Photos of Bridgewater, VT

Board of Civil Authority

The Board of Civil Authority consists of the elected Justices of the Peace (5), members of the Select Board (3) and the Town Clerk.   Functions of the Board include serving as election officials, hearing tax appeals and sitting on the Board of Abatement of Taxes.

Justices of the Peace are elected in November of even numbered years and serve a two year term.  Justices elected in November take office the following February.  Justices of the Peace may preform civil marriages as well as serve on the above referenced boards.

Currently serving as Justices of the Peace:                                                                                                                                                                                   

                                            Jim Bulmer, Greg Jenne, Gloria Martin, Jerry Oppenheimer and Donna Williamson.


Official Website of the Town of Bridgewater, Vermont. All rights reserved